2013 Sudler Prize and the Laya and Jerome B Wiesner Award Winners in Music and Theater Arts

Congratulations to Emily Su, Noah Arbesfeld, Jean Sack and the MIT Festival Jazz Ensemble!

Emily Su ‘13 (music) , Course VI (Electrical Engineering and Computer Science) was awarded the Louis Sudler Prize in the Arts.

The Louis Sudler Prize in the Arts is presented annually to a graduating senior who has demonstrated excellence or the highest standards of proficiency in music, theater, painting, sculpture, design, architecture or film. The Prize was established in 1982 by Mr. Sudler, a performer in the arts and an arts patron from Chicago. An endowment fund provides a $1,500 award to the honoree.

The  MIT Festival Jazz Ensemble, Frederick Harris, Jr., Music Director; Noah Arbesfeld ’13 (theater); and Jean Sack ’13 (music)  were awarded the Laya and Jerome B Wiesner Student Award.

The Laya and Jerome B. Wiesner Student Art Awards are presented annually to two students (undergraduate or graduate), living groups, organizations or activities for outstanding achievement in and contributions to the arts at MIT. Established by the Council for the Arts at MIT in 1979, these awards honor President Emeritus Jerome Wiesner and Mrs. Wiesner for their commitment to the arts at MIT. An endowment fund provides a $1,500 honorarium to each recipient.


This entry was posted in Music News, Theater News. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.