Levitan Award Recipients in Music

DavidDeveauPatty tangMIT Senior Lecturer  in Music David Deveau and Associate Professor of Music Patricia Tang are both 2014 recipients of the  James A. and Ruth Levitan Awards for Excellence in Teaching in the School of Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences.

Dean Fitzgerald said, ”This prize honors those instructors in our School who have demonstrated outstanding success in teaching our undergraduate and graduate students. These great educators, who are nominated by students themselves, have really made a difference in the lives of our remarkable students — and are among the finest academic leaders in the School. Warmest congratulations!”

The Levitan award recognizes SHASS teachers—professors, lecturers, and graduate teaching assistants—who make a profound difference in the educational experience of MIT undergraduates.

Nominations are made, by students themselves, through the course of the academic year, and reflect the positive role that our educators play in the day-to-day, week-to-week efforts of MIT students as they engage with and excel in the humanities, arts, and social sciences.

The 2014 award recipients were chosen by the SHASS Education Advisory Committee, chaired by Associate Dean Kai von Fintel, which included Fotini Christia (Political Science), Myke Cuthbert (Music), Peter Donaldson (Literature), Heather Paxson (Anthropology), Martin Hackl (Linguistics and Philosophy), and Elise Ruan ’14.

Award-winning faculty members and lecturers each receive $2,000 in research funding; graduate student Teaching Assistants receive $1,000.


This entry was posted in Music News. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.